About Utah Area Code 801

The 801 area code includes Utah cities Alta, American Fork, Bountiful, Clearfield, Farmington, Goshen, Holladay, Kaysville, Kearns, Lehi, Magna, Midvale, Morgan, Murray, Ogden, Orem, Payson, Pleasant Grove, Provo, Salt Lake City, Spanish Fork, Spanish Fork Canyon, Springville.

Nearby area codes are 208, 307, 385, 435, 541, 775, 928 and 970.
Search for a phone number:
Example: 801-555-5555

Extended information

801 and 385 are area code overlays under the North American Numbering Plan covering the Wasatch Front in northern Utah. Specifically, 801 and 385 cover Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, and Morgan counties. Some cities and towns included in this area code are Salt Lake City, Ogden, Layton, Bountiful, Orem, Provo, Kearns, Alta, Murray, Midvale, and Sandy. The 385 area code was overlaid on the 801 area code on March 1, 2009.

Until September 1997, all of Utah was served by the 801 area code. At that time all of the counties outside of the Wasatch Front were assigned the 435 area code.

In 2000, the Utah Public Service Commission approved a split for 801 to take effect in 2001, in which Salt Lake County would retain the 801 area code and Utah, Davis, Weber and Morgan Counties would form a new non-contiguous area code 385. Conservation measures allowed the repeated postponement of the area code split.

In July 2007, the PSC of Utah announced that the conservation measures would be exhausted in approximately June 2008, finally necessitating the implementation of the 385 area code. The same announcement stated that 385 would be overlaid, not split, with 801, so that both 801 and 385 would serve all five counties belonging to the pre-overlay 801 area code.

The 385/801 overlay introduced mandatory 10-digit local dialing to the Wasatch Front on March 1, 2009 (beginning June 1, 2008 and ending March 1, 2009, both seven and ten-digit calls were allowed).

801 Area Code Exchanges 100-153:

Back to home