About Kentucky Area Code 502

The 502 area code includes Kentucky cities Bardstown, Fort Knox, Frankfort, Georgetown, Lawrenceburg, Louisville, Owenton.

Nearby area codes are 270, 364, 606, 812 and 859.
Search for a phone number:
Example: 502-555-5555

Extended information

Area code 502 serves the state of Kentucky's north central counties, primarily Louisville, its suburbs, and the state capital Frankfort. Its service area encompasses the following Kentucky counties (the boundary closely, but not exactly, tracks county lines): Anderson County, Bullitt County, Carroll County, Franklin County, Henry County, Jefferson County, Nelson County, Oldham County, Owen County, Scott County, Shelby County, Spencer County, and Trimble County.

Parts of Hardin and Meade Counties are also served by this area code, specifically: The Fort Knox Army base, which also spreads into Bullitt County; the city of Muldraugh, located in Meade County and completely surrounded by Fort Knox; and the city of West Point in Hardin County and its surrounding area, which is cut off from the rest of Hardin County by Fort Knox

Among the cities in the 502 area are Louisville, Frankfort, Georgetown, Shelbyville, and Bardstown. Interestingly, even though Georgetown is in the 502 area code, it is considered long-distance to call other cities in the 502 area code, but not Lexington, which is in the 859 area code.

The area code was one of the first established in October 1947, initially covering the entire state of Kentucky. Area code 606 was split off of it in 1954/1955 and 270 in 1999.

502 Area Code Exchanges 100-153:

Back to home