About California Area Code 619

The 619 area code includes California cities San Diego, Alpine, Boulevard, Campo, Chula Vista, Coronado, Descanso, Dulzura, El Cajon, Imperial Beach, Jacumba, Jamul, Lakeside, Lemon Grove, National City, Pine Valley, San Ysidro, Santee, Spring Valley.

Nearby area codes are 760 and 858.
Search for a phone number:
Example: 619-555-5555

Extended information

North American area code 619 is a California telephone area code which was split from area code 714 on November 5, 1982. This area code currently covers the southern half of the city of San Diego and its eastern and southern suburbs.

Before it was split to form area code 760, 619 was the area code for a large geographical area that spanned all of San Diego county as well as desert counties along the eastern border of the state from the Mexican border almost to Lake Tahoe. Area code 760 was designated as the outer northern suburbs of San Diego (such as Oceanside, Vista, Fallbrook, San Marcos and Escondido), as well as the county's eastern mountain areas and all portions of the old area code lying outside San Bernardino County.

Area code 858, which covers the northern half of the city and the inner northern suburbs, was a result of a later split. This area includes Del Mar and La Jolla, and Miramar MCAS.

619 Area Code Exchanges 100-153:

Back to home