About Wisconsin Area Code 414

The 414 area code includes Wisconsin cities Brown Deer, Fox Point, Franklin, Glendale, Greenfield, Milwaukee, Muskego, Oak Creek, Shorewood, Wauwatosa, West Allis, Whitefish Bay.

Nearby area codes are 224, 262, 815, 847 and 920.
Search for a phone number:
Example: 414-555-5555

Extended information

North American telephone area code 414 is a state of Wisconsin area code which was created along with Area code 715 as one of the two original area codes assigned to Wisconsin in October 1947. Currently, the 414 area code is nearly exclusive to Milwaukee County (including the City of Milwaukee) with a few exceptions just outside of the border.

The 414 area code originally covered all of Eastern and Southern Wisconsin (with 715 covering the North and West). All parts of Wisconsin served by an area code other than 715 were once covered by 414. The first split from the original 414 resulted in the creation of the 608 area code. The 414 was split again on July 26, 1997 when north half became the 920 area code, and the south half remained the 414 area code. The current 414 area code was formed (beginning on September 25, 1999) by switching all the area outside the current 414 area code to the 262 area code.

The area code gained infamy in 1983, when a gang of six Milwaukee-area teenagers calling themselves The 414s broke into several high-profile computer systems across the United States and Canada.

414 Area Code Exchanges 100-153:

Back to home